About the PASCH initiative

Awakening interest and enthusiasm for Germany, motivating young people to learn German and creating an international network of schools – those are the aims of the PASCH initiative. PASCH stands for “Schools: Partners for the Future”.

PASCH at a glance

PASCH-Schülerinnen und -Schüler weltweit
© PASCH/Cordula Flegel

2000 PASCH schools in 120 countries

The initiative is a global network of some 2000 schools that place a high value on German. PASCH partners provide advice to head teachers, ministries and schools on developing German teaching. Seconded PASCH partner experts visit the schools to provide direct support. Fostering exchange between international and German PASCH schools is a particular priority. The platform partnerschulnetz.de is an important tool in developing school partnerships.

Click here to visit the school partnership platform
PASCH-Schülerinnen und -Schüler
© PASCH/Cordula Flegel

600,000 pupils worldwide

Education projects, competitions, language courses in Germany or multinational summer schools abroad, learning materials, guidance services or taster weeks at German universities: the initiative makes use of a variety of programmes to motivate pupils at PASCH schools to learn German, promotes their language skills and helps foster intercultural dialogue.

Click here to see the PASCH world map
PASCH-Lehrerinnen der Muktangan School
© PASCH/Marco Bräuning

Supporting teachers

The initiative supports German teachers at PASCH schools by providing regional and supra-regional further training courses, opportunities to see teaching in action in Germany and grants for further training in Germany. Teachers are involved in local, regional and supra-regional PASCH projects together with their pupils. These education projects foster ties between the schools, boost students’ language skills and promote intercultural exchange.

PASCH-Alumni
© PASCH/Cordula Flegel

PASCH alumni activities

PASCH helps school leavers as they move from school to university education and awards scholarships for studying in Germany. The Support Initiative for German Schools Abroad and Partner Schools helps foster ties with German universities. Former pupils can forge contacts, continue to learn and obtain information on study and career opportunities via alumni gatherings and on pasch-alumni.de. PASCH alumni are active within the network and in projects that will also benefit the next generation. Through the PASCH mentoring programme they can receive or provide support for commencement of a university course in Germany.

Click here to visit the PASCH alumni portal
10 Jahre PASCH – Start des PASCH-Mobils
© PASCH/Cordula Flegel

10 years of PASCH – the PASCH mobile tours Germany

In 2018, the initiative Schools: Partners for the Future (PASCH) celebrated its 10th anniversary at home and abroad. Videos, photos and articles convey impressions of various activities and showcase PASCH in all its diversity.

Find out more

PASCH partners

PASCH is an initiative of the Federal Foreign Office in cooperation with the Central Agency for Schools Abroad (ZfA), the Goethe-Institut, the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) and the Educational Exchange Service (PAD) of the Secretariat of the Standing Conference of the Ministers of Education and Cultural Affairs of the Länder in the Federal Republic of Germany.

Logo Auswärtiges Amt

Auswärtiges Amt

The initiative Schools: Partners for the Future (PASCH) was launched by then Foreign Minister Dr Frank-Walter Steinmeier in 2008. PASCH is a beacon project that implements key objectives of cultural relations and education policy. The Federal Foreign Office promotes and coordinates the initiative, which is implemented by its partner organisations: the Federal Office of Administration – Central Agency for Schools Abroad, the Goethe-Institut, the German Academic Exchange Service and the Educational Exchange Service.

For more information, visit www.auswaertiges-amt.de/en
Logo Zentralstelle für das Auslandsschulwesen

Zentralstelle für das Auslandsschulwesen (ZfA)

The Central Agency for Schools Abroad promotes and advises more than 1200 schools in almost 100 countries on behalf of the Federal Foreign Office. They include 140 German schools abroad, 27 German profile schools and more than 1000 schools offering the German Language Certificate of the Standing Conference of the Ministers of Education and Cultural Affairs of the Länder in the Federal Republic of Germany. All these schools belong to the PASCH partner schools initiative.

For more information, visit www.auslandsschulwesen.de
Logo Goethe-Institut

Goethe-Institut

The German cultural institute is active all over the world, promoting knowledge of the German language in foreign countries in around 670 partner schools and presenting a comprehensive view of Germany. The Goethe-Institut provides teachers and pupils with qualifications and thereby develops and expands German tuition.

For more information, visit www.goethe.de
Logo Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst

Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst (DAAD)

The German Academic Exchange Service is the global leader in academic exchange and promotes international academic cooperation, chiefly through scholarships, projects and communication. At the interface with Germany as a study location, the German Academic Exchange Service has shaped the education paths of more than 7000 PASCH pupils and alumni since 2008.

For more information, visit www.daad.de
Logo Pädagogischer Austauschdienst

Pädagogischer Austauschdienst (PAD) des Sekretariats der Kultusministerkonferenz

The PAD is responsible for international school exchange and cooperation on behalf of the Länder. Since 2008, around 400 school partnerships with PASCH schools abroad have received support – and consequently almost 24,000 pupils and teachers.

For more information, visit www.kmk-pad.org

Über die PASCH-Initiative

Interesse und Begeisterung für Deutschland wecken, junge Menschen zum Deutschlernen motivieren und ein weltweites Netzwerk von Schulen schaffen – das sind die Ziele der PASCH-Initiative. PASCH steht für „Schulen: Partner der Zukunft“.

PASCH auf einen Blick

PASCH-Schülerinnen und -Schüler weltweit
© PASCH/Cordula Flegel

2.000 PASCH-Schulen in 120 Ländern

Die Initiative vernetzt weltweit mehr als 2.000 Schulen, an denen Deutsch einen besonders hohen Stellenwert hat. Die PASCH-Partner beraten Schulleitungen, Ministerien und Schulen bei der Entwicklung des Deutschunterrichts. Entsandte Expertinnen und Experten der PASCH-Partner betreuen die Schulen vor Ort und unterstützen beim Ausbau des Deutschunterrichts. Der Austausch zwischen internationalen und deutschen PASCH-Schulen wird besonders gefördert. Die Schulpartnerbörse trägt zum Aufbau von Schulpartnerschaften bei.

Zur Schulpartnerbörse
PASCH-Schülerinnen und -Schüler
© PASCH/Cordula Flegel

600.000 Schülerinnen und Schüler weltweit

Bildungsprojekte, Wettbewerbe, Sprachaufenthalte in Deutschland oder multinationale Sommerschulen vor Ort, Lernmaterialien, Studienberatung oder Probestudienwochen: über eine Vielzahl von Angeboten motiviert die Initiative Schülerinnen und Schüler an PASCH-Schulen zum Deutsch lernen, fördert ihre Sprachkompetenz und trägt zum interkulturellen Dialog bei.

Zur PASCH-Weltkarte
PASCH-Lehrerinnen der Muktangan School
© PASCH/Marco Bräuning

Unterstützung der Lehrkräfte

Mit regionalen und überregionalen Fortbildungen, Hospitationsmöglichkeiten sowie Stipendien für Fortbildungen in Deutschland unterstützt PASCH die Deutschlehrenden an PASCH-Schulen. Gemeinsam mit ihren Schülerinnen und Schülern sind Lehrkräfte in lokale, regionale und überregionale PASCH-Projekte eingebunden. Diese Bildungsprojekte fördern die Vernetzung zwischen den Schulen, stärken die Sprachkompetenz der Lernenden und tragen zum interkulturellen Austausch bei.

PASCH-Alumni
© PASCH/Cordula Flegel

PASCH-Alumniarbeit

PASCH unterstützt Absolventinnen und Absolventen beim Übergang von Schule zu Hochschule und vergibt Stipendien zum Studium in Deutschland. Die Betreuungsinitiative Deutsche Auslands- und Partnerschulen (BIDS) trägt zur Vernetzung mit deutschen Hochschulen bei. Über Alumni-Treffen und auf www.pasch-alumni.de können Ehemalige Kontakte knüpfen, sich weiterbilden und über Studien- und Karrieremöglichkeiten mit Deutschlandbezug informieren. PASCH-Alumni engagieren sich im Netzwerk und in Projekten auch für die die nächste Generation. Im PASCH-Mentoring-Programm erfahren oder bieten sie Unterstützung beim Studienbeginn in Deutschland.

Zur PASCH-Alumni-Plattform
10 Jahre PASCH – Start des PASCH-Mobils
© PASCH/Cordula Flegel

10 Jahre PASCH – Das PASCH-Mobil auf Deutschlandtour

2018 feierte die Initiative „Schulen: Partner der Zukunft“ (PASCH) im In- und Ausland ihr 10-jähriges Jubiläum. Videos, Fotos und Texte vermitteln Eindrücke von unterschiedlichsten Aktivitäten und der Vielfalt von PASCH.

Mehr erfahren

Die PASCH-Partner

​PASCH ist eine Initiative des Auswärtigen Amts, in Kooperation mit der Zentralstelle für das Auslandsschulwesen (ZfA), dem Goethe-Institut, dem Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst (DAAD) und dem Pädagogischen Austauschdienst (PAD) des Sekretariats der Kultusministerkonferenz.

Logo Auswärtiges Amt

Auswärtiges Amt

Die Initiative „Schulen: Partner der Zukunft“ wurde 2008 vom damaligen Bundesaußenminister Dr. Frank-Walter Steinmeier ins Leben gerufen. PASCH ist ein Projekt mit Leuchtturmfunktion, welches wesentliche Ziele der auswärtigen Kultur- und Bildungspolitik (AKBP) umsetzt. Das Auswärtige Amt fördert und koordiniert die Initiative, welche von den Partnerorganisationen ZfA, Goethe-Institut, DAAD und PAD umgesetzt wird.

Mehr auf www.auswaertiges-amt.de
Logo Zentralstelle für das Auslandsschulwesen

Zentralstelle für das Auslandsschulwesen (ZfA)

Die ZfA betreut, fördert und berät im Auftrag des Auswärtigen Amtes über 1.200 Schulen in fast 100 Ländern, darunter 140 Deutsche Auslandsschulen, 27 Deutsch-Profil-Schulen und über 1.000 Schulen, die das Deutsche Sprachdiplom (DSD) der Kultusministerkonferenz anbieten. Alle diese Schulen gehören zur Partnerschulinitiative PASCH.

Mehr auf www.auslandsschulwesen.de
Logo Goethe-Institut

Goethe-Institut

Das weltweit tätige deutsche Kulturinstitut fördert in rund 670 Partnerschulen die Kenntnis der deutschen Sprache im Ausland und damit ein umfassendes Deutschlandbild. Das Goethe-Institut qualifiziert Lehrkräfte und Lernende und baut so den Deutschunterricht auf und aus.

Mehr auf www.goethe.de
Logo Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst

Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst (DAAD)

Der DAAD fördert die internationale wissenschaftliche Zusammenarbeit als weltweit führende Organisation für den akademischen Austausch, vor allem durch Stipendien, Projekte und Kommunikation. An der Schnittstelle zum Studienstandort Deutschland prägt der DAAD seit 2008 mehr als 7.000 Bildungsbiografien von PASCH-Schülerinnen und Schülern sowie Alumni.

Mehr auf www.daad.de
Logo Pädagogischer Austauschdienst

Pädagogischer Austauschdienst (PAD) des Sekretariats der Kultusministerkonferenz

Der PAD ist im Auftrag der Länder für den internationalen Austausch und die Zusammenarbeit im Schulbereich tätig. Seit 2008 werden rund 400 Schulpartnerschaften mit ausländischen PASCH-Schulen gefördert – und damit fast 24.000 Schülerinnen, Schüler und Lehrkräfte.

Mehr auf www.kmk-pad.org