FAQ – Schools: Partners for the Future

How many partner schools are there?

Around 1,700 schools from all over the world are part of the network of partner schools. Among them are the more than 140 German schools abroad and over 1,000 national schools which currently offer the German Language Diploma. These schools are supported by the Central Agency for German Schools Abroad (ZfA). More than 550 schools are supported by the Goethe-Institut.
November 2013

In which countries do we find PASCH schools?

The PASCH-Network extends over the entire world, with its primary focus on regions with traditional connections to the German language (CIS countries, Central and Eastern Europe, the USA, Latin America) or where demand for German language options has increased sharply (Asia, the Persian Gulf region, Near and Middle East).

What does the initiative aim to achieve?

The network of German schools abroad and schools which offer the German Language Diploma is being strengthened and expanded. In addition, the working relationship between schools is being enhanced to ensure that German continues to be firmly established as a foreign language in national education systems. The initiative wants to encourage young people to take an interest in and be enthused by modern Germany and its society. It aims to build up active and long-term links to Germany and encourage the schools, their teaching staff and pupils to engage in an open exchange of ideas and work together. The PASCH schools abroad therefore also want to pave the way towards creating an international learning community.

Why do we need an international learning community?

It is about fostering an interest in and understanding of one another. Openness towards the diversity of different cultures and tolerance of their respective independence do not have to be mutually exclusive. To gain a better appreciation of this, we require more than ever before places for understanding, for shared learning and joint creativity. The sooner we regard ourselves as an international learning community, the better able we will be to solve the problems of the future that are common to all of us.

Why are various supporting agencies involved in the initiative?

The initiative provides students at the PASCH schools with attractive education prospects, and it offers Germany the opportunity to encourage young people to take an interest in and be enthused by modern Germany and its society. To ensure that this educational pathway can have the broadest possible base, the supporting agencies are contributing their various core areas of expertise – from implementing and strengthening the teaching of German as a foreign language and guiding students to German educational qualifications through to scholarships to study in Germany. There will also be an expansion in the number of cooperation arrangements and networks between schools abroad and German universities which are very keen to attract students with a solid educational background.

Can schools in Germany become partners too?

All members of the PASCH network are schools outside Germany. At the same time, however, we want pupils in Germany to form closer ties with pupils abroad who are interested in Germany and in learning German. That is why the organizers of the PASCH initiative offer member schools a wide variety of options to form networks not only with one another but also with Germany. Examples of such programmes include the school partnership and internship programmes of the Educational Exchange Service as well as the Goethe-Institut’s international courses for young people, which young Germans also take part in.

Why is it worth learning German?

In global terms, German is one of the world's ten most important languages on a scale of values incorporating approx. five thousand languages which exist. The "value" of a language is measured here using factors such as demography (number of native speakers), economy (flows of trade and investment, but also for example the number of speakers with a second foreign language), culture (here in particular the image of a language) and others too. In terms of language usage on the Internet, German is in fourth place (after English, Chinese and Spanish). And ultimately, with approx. 100 million speakers, German is the most spoken native language in Europe and (after English) the most spoken foreign language in the EU. In addition, a command of the German language gives you the key to an attractive linguistic territory with a modern economy, technology and culture and a diverse society.

How do you become a member of the PASCH network?

The participating schools are selected according to specific criteria by the Central Agency for Schools Abroad (ZfA)and the Goethe-Institut in cooperation with the locals embassies. Schools cannot apply directly.

What are the benefits for the school if it is a partner?

PASCH schools receive assistance in expanding German as a subject taught at school or in establishing it in the first place. They may receive modern, multimedia learning and cultural studies materials and technical equipment if necessary. The Central Office for the Overseas School System (ZfA), Goethe-Institut and Pedagogical Exchange Service (PAD) will help the school to maintain the high standard of (German) teaching required with further education for teachers, measures for school development, school partnerships and programmes allowing teachers to sit in on lessons and observe. The member schools can also call on the expertise of expert advisors and other experts in teaching who will provide an optimum level of support to the students and German teachers in the relevant country at the actual school itself.

What are the benefits for students?

If their school is a member of the PASCH network, they will have the opportunity, through the network, to establish various international contacts with students from other partner schools at an early stage.

Particularly dedicated students will receive additional support and encouragement: by receiving invitations to attend summer courses for young people in Germany, by participating in an international German Olympiad and similar competitions or by receiving attractive rewards. The opportunity to learn all about the German language and the cultural region of Germany may provide students at an advanced level with the prospect of studying in Germany – maybe even with a full scholarship from the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) – and a subsequent career built on this foundation.

What qualifications can be obtained at the PASCH schools?

The qualifications that can be obtained at the PASCH schools depend on the local circumstances. They range from the German “Abitur” at major schools which offer German teaching to the German Language Diploma of the Conference of State Ministers of Education and Cultural Affairs, or other school-leaving qualifications at schools which offer a high level of German teaching. In some cases, these qualifications will also entitle the student to study in Germany.

PASCH-net und Social Media

FAQ – Fragen zur PASCH-Initiative

Wie viele PASCH-Schulen gibt es?

Das PASCH-Netzwerk umfasst weltweit mehr als 1.800 Schulen. Dazu gehören die von der Zentralstelle für das Auslandsschulwesen (ZfA) betreuten 140 Deutschen Auslandsschulen und rund 1.100 nationale Schulen, die das Deutsche Sprachdiplom der Kultusministerkonferenz anbieten. Über 550 weitere Schulen betreut das Goethe-Institut.

In welchen Ländern gibt es PASCH-Schulen?

Das PASCH-Netzwerk spannt sich über die ganze Welt, dabei liegt der Schwerpunkt auf Regionen, in denen es traditionelle Verbindungen zur deutschen Sprache gibt (GUS, Mittel- und Osteuropa, USA, Lateinamerika) oder die Nachfrage nach Deutschangeboten stark angestiegen ist (Asien, Golfregion, Naher und Mittlerer Osten).

Was will die Initiative erreichen?

Das Netz von Deutschen Auslandsschulen und Schulen, die das Deutsche Sprachdiplom anbieten, wird gestärkt und erweitert. Darüber hinaus wird die schulische Zusammenarbeit ausgebaut, um in den nationalen Bildungssystemen Deutsch als Fremdsprache weiter zu festigen. Die Initiative will bei jungen Menschen Interesse und Begeisterung für das moderne Deutschland und seine Gesellschaft wecken. Sie will lebendige und langfristige Bindungen zu Deutschland aufbauen und die Schulen, ihre Lehrkräfte und Schülerinnen und Schüler zugleich zum offenen Gedankenaustausch und zur Zusammenarbeit untereinander anregen. Die PASCH-Schulen im Ausland wollen damit auch den Weg zu einer internationalen Lerngemeinschaft bereiten.

Warum brauchen wir eine internationale Lerngemeinschaft?

Interesse an- und Verständnis für einander schaffen. Offenheit gegenüber der Vielfalt der Kulturen und Toleranz gegenüber der jeweiligen Eigenständigkeit schließen sich nicht aus. Um das noch besser zu begreifen, benötigen wir Orte der Verständigung, des gemeinsamen Lernens und der gemeinsamen Kreativität. Je früher wir uns als eine internationale Lerngemeinschaft begreifen, umso besser werden wir gemeinsamen Zukunftsprobleme lösen.

Warum sind an der PASCH-Initiative verschiedene Träger beteiligt?

Die Initiative eröffnet Lernenden an den PASCH-Schulen attraktive Bildungsperspektiven, für Deutschland die Chance, bei jungen Menschen Interesse und Begeisterung für Deutschland und seine Gesellschaft zu wecken. Um diesen Bildungsweg möglichst breit anzulegen, bringen die Träger ihre unterschiedlichen Kernkompetenzen ein – von der Implementierung und Stärkung des Deutsch-als-Fremdsprache-Unterrichts über die Hinführung zu deutschen Bildungsabschlüssen bis zu Stipendien für ein Studium in Deutschland. Ausgebaut werden auch Kooperationen und Netzwerke zwischen Schulen im Ausland und deutschen Hochschulen, die ein großes Interesse an gut vorgebildeten Studierenden haben.

Können auch Schulen in Deutschland Partner werden?

Mitglieder des PASCH-Netzwerks sind ausschließlich Schulen außerhalb Deutschlands. Zugleich ist aber auch eine stärkere Vernetzung von Schülerinnen und Schülern in Deutschland mit den Lernenden an Schulen in ausländischen Bildungssystemen, die Interesse an Deutschland und Deutschunterricht haben, gewollt. Deshalb bieten die Träger der PASCH-Initiative den Mitgliedsschulen vielfältige Möglichkeiten, sich nicht nur untereinander, sondern auch mit Deutschland zu vernetzen. Beispiele hierfür sind die Schulpartnerschaften und Hospitationsprogramme des Pädagogischen Austauschdienstes oder die internationalen Jugendkurse des Goethe-Institutes, an denen auch deutsche Jugendliche teilnehmen.

Warum lohnt es sich, Deutsch zu lernen?

Global gesehen gehört Deutsch auf einer Werteskala von circa fünftausend existierenden Sprachen zu den zehn wichtigsten der Welt. Der „Wert“ einer Sprache wird dabei anhand von Faktoren wie Demografie (Zahl der Muttersprachler), Ökonomie (Handels- und Investitionsströme, aber z. B. auch: Zahl der Sprecher mit zweiter Fremdsprache), Kultur (hier besonders das Image einer Sprache) u.Ä. gemessen. Bei der Sprachanwendung im Internet steht Deutsch (nach Englisch, Chinesisch und Spanisch) an vierter Stelle. Und schließlich ist Deutsch mit circa 100 Millionen Sprechern die meist gesprochene Muttersprache in Europa und (nach Englisch) die meist gesprochene Fremdsprache in der EU. Darüber hinaus erhält man mit der deutschen Sprache einen Schlüssel zu einem attraktiven Sprachraum mit moderner Wirtschaft, Technik und Kultur und einer vielfältigen Gesellschaft.

Wie wird man Mitglied im PASCH-Netzwerk?

Die teilnehmenden Schulen werden von der Zentralstelle für das Auslandsschulwesen und dem Goethe-Institut in Abstimmung mit der jeweiligen Auslandsvertretung vor Ort nach festgelegten Kriterien ausgewählt. Eine direkte Bewerbung von Schulen ist leider nicht möglich.

Was sind die Vorteile für die Schule, wenn sie Partner ist?

PASCH-Schulen werden dabei unterstützt, Deutsch als Schulfach auszubauen bzw. neu einzurichten. Sie können moderne, multimediale Lern- und Landeskundematerialien und im Bedarfsfall technische Geräte erhalten. ZfA, GI und PAD unterstützen die Schule bei der Sicherung der hohen Qualität des (Deutsch)unterrichts durch Lehrerfortbildungen, Maßnahmen zur Schulentwicklung, Schulpartnerschaften und Hospitationsprogramme. Die Mitgliedsschulen können zudem auf die Kompetenz von Fachberaterinnen und Fachberatern sowie Expertinnen und Experten für Unterricht zurückgreifen, die die Schülerinnen und Schüler sowie die Deutschlehrkräfte unmittelbar vor Ort und im Land optimal betreuen.

Welche Vorteile gibt es für Schülerinnen und Schüler?

Durch die Mitgliedschaft ihrer Schule im PASCH-Netzwerk haben sie die Chance, über das Netzwerk schon früh vielfältige internationale Kontakte mit Schülerinnen und Schülern anderer Partnerschulen zu knüpfen.

Besonders engagierte Schülerinnen und Schüler werden zusätzlich gefördert: durch Einladungen zu Sommerjugendkursen in Deutschland, durch die Teilnahme an einer internationalen Deutscholympiade und ähnlichen Wettbewerben oder durch den Erhalt attraktiver Prämien. Die Möglichkeit, die deutsche Sprache und den deutschen Kulturraum kennenzulernen, kann für fortgeschrittene Schülerinnen und Schüler die Perspektive für ein Studium in Deutschland – eventuell sogar mit einem Vollstipendium des DAAD – und eine darauf aufbauende Karriere eröffnen.

Welche Abschlüsse kann man an den PASCH-Schulen ablegen?

Abschlüsse, die an den PASCH-Schulen erworben werden können, richten sich nach den Gegebenheiten vor Ort. Sie reichen vom Abitur bei großen Schulen mit deutschem Unterrichtsangebot bis zum Deutschen Sprachdiplom der Kultusministerkonferenz oder anderen Abschlussprüfungen bei Schulen mit verstärktem Deutschunterricht. Mit diesen Abschlüssen sind teilweise auch Berechtigungen zur Aufnahme eines Studiums in Deutschland verknüpft.

PASCH-net und Social Media